Back to start Power supply, battery and charger

If you wish to look at an accessory piece of my equipment, you just click on it. At this webpage you will find power supplies, batteries and chargers.
line
FPS 4A Voltcraft
FPS-1132 Voltcraft
 
Voltcraft FPS 4A For the power supply on the station table, I bought back in 1998 the Voltcraft FPS 4A, a commercial device from Conrad Electronic. It dispenses 2 A at 13.8 V, for a short time 4 A are possible. When opening the case, the output voltage of 12 to 14 V can be adjusted via a setting resistance on the vertical circuit board. Since its purchase more than 20 years ago, this power supply has worked without failure.
Voltcraft FPS 1132 © Conrad Electronic In the meantime, Conrad Electronic also has the follower model Voltcraft FPS 1132 (Order no. 1195956). Compared to its predecessor, it provides a measuring device for displaying the output current. In addition, the fine-tuning of the output voltage (11 to 14 V) is possible via a small adjustment resistance from the front panel. This device can also dispense 2 A and 4 A for 2 minutes.
FPS-1132: 16,4 × 9 × 23 cm; 2,1 kg
lineto the top
NiMH batteriesVarta
 
NiMH battery During the preparations for a portable operation I make up my mind not to use my sealed lead-acid batteries. For a long time I ogle with NiMH batteries. They are ligther and smaller than comparable sealed lead-acid batteries. But the offer is enormous. The batteries are available both as single cells and as acumulator packs.
Battery tray © Conrad Electronic Finally I opt for single Mignon cells (AA) by Varta, which are usuable for high-current applications (not the normal ones). They possess a capacity of 2.7 Ah with 1,2 V for each cell. For a transceiver operated with 12 V are ten cells to be used. You can unload the cells with up to 4.8 A (4.8 A) and down to 0.8 V. Thus a transceiver can be operated down to 8 V.
The used cells (four-pack, order no. 250484) and suitable holder (Order no. 615617) are available by Conrad Electronic. For charging I use a ready-made charger for NiMH batteries (Mignon, AA). The also as four-pack available cells (Order no. 250992) have only 2.6 Ah, but they can also be discharged with 5.2 A down to 0.8 V.
Batterie clip with banana jacks Two tips: Buy as much cells as you need for two battery packs. While a package of ten cells is loading, you can use the second package. Also replace the thin wires of the related clips with thicker wires. How to do this, I'll show here.
lineto the top
BTL-12 Basetech
BTL-14 Basetech
 
Basetech BTL-12 There I stood now with my 10 NiMH batteries. I own a suitable charger, but it can charge only 2 cells at the same time. Devices, which charge 4 cells one finds many, such for 8 cells already less. I found only one charger, which can charge at least 10 cells at the same time. It is the Basetech BTL-12, which is for example available from Conrad Electronic (Order no. 200112).
Basetech BTL-14 © Conrad Electronic The newer version Basetech BTL-14 with display is also available from Conrad Electronic (Order no. 1541355). I selected consciously a device, that don't uses high-speed charging. It charges the cells with 250 mA (trickle charging current 25 mA). The charge process takes longer (approximately 15 hours in relation to 3 or 4 hours with fast charging), but the cells are take care in such a way. To emphasize is, that the Basetech BTL-12 and the Basetech BTL-14 supervises each cell separately and the device uses the so called -ΔV disconnection. The chargers can be runs as well with the power adaptor from 100 to 240 V, the BTL-12 additional with an adaptor cable from the 12 V car.
BTL-12: 22,3 × 3,4 × 9,8 cm; 217 g
BTL-14: 22,3 × 3 × 10,6 cm; 140 g
Addendum of 10. 5. 2020: After the BTL12 has been replaced by the BTL-14, also the BTL-14 is no longer available from Conrad Electronic.
lineto the top
Sealed lead-acid batteries
 
sealed lead-acid battery At the latest if one wants to become active away from the commercial power supply, the search for an alternative power supply begins. Although there are various battery types and high performance one-way solutions, I use mainly Sealed lead-acid batteries. If one calculate the necessary capacity, astonishing small types can be used. They are usable over years if still suitable charge methods and fundamental usage hints are used.
lineto the top
Mainy Egston
 
Egston I was in search of a small and lightweight sealed lead-acid battery charger. It's should work at 110 and 230 V and have a current limiting. Unfortunately I do not found an usable one so I modified the output voltage of an available power supplies by Egston. A description of the conversion is available.
lineto the top
LiFePo4 batteries
 
Vision V-LFP-12-4.5 After almost 15 years of service, the sealed lead-acid batteries I used did not replace fancy specimens with new ones, but looked for a lighter alternative.
BMZ Lithium Powerbloc LBP2500 I've been using LiFePo4 batteries for a few years now. They are available now reasonably priced as battery packs with 13.2 V rated voltage. If you do not want to use balancers when charging, you should make sure that a so-called Battery Management System (BMS) is already integrated in the battery. This control takes over the balance of the 4 cells contained therein.
In addition, care must be taken to ensure that the maximum permissible discharge current is lower than the current of the transceiver when sending. Otherwise, the BMS can be damaged if the current is too high. The two LiFoPo4 batteries I use are:
- Vision V-LFP-12-4.5; 13,2 V/2,5 Ah; 660 g; 114 × 80 × 40 mm
- BMZ Lithium Powerbloc LPB-S 2,5Ah; 13,2 V/4,5 Ah; 530 g; 90 × 101 × 70 mm
I built a charger that can be used for these LiFePo4 batteries from a plug-in power supply Egston N2EFSW3-12 and another from a Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A.
lineto the top
N2EFSW3-12W Egston
 
Egston N2EFSW3-12W I needed a charger for a LiFePo4 battery whose output voltage is exactly 14.4 V and whose has a current limit. A balancer was not required because it is already included in the batteries. I used a switching power supply here again, as I had already used it years ago with the charger for lead gel batteries. The output voltage and the current limit are relatively easy to adjust. There are only two resistances to be changed. Which resistors are to be changed where can be found in this conversion manual.
lineto the top
SPS24-24W-A Voltcraft
 
Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A Since the maximum charging current of the Egston N2EFSW3-12W power supply converted into a charger for LiFePo4 batteries is limited, I was looking for a more powerful model that is as easy to convert as possible. And I found a suitable plug-in power supply, namely the Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A. Its output voltage can be changed by a resistor in a jumper, so that no further modifications are required. Which resistors are to be changed, to reach an output voltage of exatly 14.4 V, where can be found in this conversion manual.

Zurück auf Start Netzteile, Akkumulatoren und Ladegeräte

Wenn Sie ein bestimmtes Zusatzgerät meiner Station näher interessiert, so klicken Sie einfach darauf. Auf dieser Seite finden Sie Netzteile, Akkumulatoren und Ladegeräte.
Linie
FPS 4A Voltcraft
FPS-1132 Voltcraft
 
Voltcraft FPS 4A Für die Stromversorgung auf dem Stationstisch kaufte ich mir bereits 1998 das kommerzielles Gerät Voltcraft FPS 4A von Conrad Electronic. Es gibt auf Dauer 2 A bei 13,8 V ab, kurzzeitig sind 4 A möglich. Wenn man das Gehäuse öffnet, lässt sich über einen Einstellwiderstand auf der senkrecht stehenden Leiterplatte die Ausgangsspannung von 12 bis 14 V einstellen. Seit dem Kauf vor mittlerweile mehr als 20 Jahren funktioniert diese Stromversogung ohne Ausfälle.
Voltcraft FPS 1132 © Conrad Electronic In der Zwischenzeit gibt es ebenfalls bei Conrad Electronic das Nachfolgemodell Voltcraft FPS 1132 (Bestell-Nr. 1195956). Es bietet gegenüber dem Vorgänger ein Messgerät zur Anzeige des Ausgangsstroms. Außerdem ist die Feinabstimmung der Ausgangsspannung (11 bis 14 V) über einen kleinen Einstellwiderstand von der Frontplatte aus möglich. Auch dieses Gerät kann 2 A auf Dauer und 4 A für 2 Minuten abgeben.
FPS-1132: 16,4 × 9 × 23 cm; 2,1 kg
Linienach oben
NiMH-Akkumulatoren Varta
 
NiMH-Akkumulator Während der Vorbereitungen zu einem längeren Portabelbetrieb entschied ich mich, nicht meine Bleigel-Akkumulatoren zu nutzen. Schon seit langem liebäugelte ich mit NiMH-Akkus. Sie sind wesentlich leichter und kleiner als vergleichbare Bleigel-Akkus. Doch das Angebot ist riesig. Es sind sowohl Einzelzellen in diversen Größen als auch Akkupacks erhältlich.
Batterie-Halter © Conrad Electronic Letztendlich entschied ich mich für Mignon-Einzelzellen (AA) von Varta, die hochstromfähig sind (nicht die normalen). Sie besitzen eine Kapazität von 2,7 Ah bei 1,2 V je Zelle. Für einen mit 12 V betriebenen Transceiver sind 10 Zellen einzusetzen. Die Zellen können bis hinunter zu 0,8 V je Zelle und mit bis zu 4,8 A entladen werden. Somit lässt sich der Transceiver bis hinunter zu 8 V betreiben.
Die von mir verwendeten Zellen (4er-Pack, Bestell-Nr. 250484) und passende Halterungen (Bestell-Nr. 615617) gibt es bei zum Beispiel Conrad Electronic. Zum Laden verwende ich einen gebrauchsfertigen NiMH-Akkumulator-Lader. Die ebenfalls als 4er-Pack erhältlichen Zellen (Bestell-Nr. 250992) verfügen zwar nur über 2,6 Ah, doch sie lassen sich ebenfalls bis hinunter zu 0,8 V mit 5,2 A entladen.
Batterie-Clip mit Bananenbuchsen Zwei Tipps: Schaffen Sie sich gleich soviel Zellen an, dass es für 2 Akkupacks reicht. Während das eine 10er-Paket aufgeladen wird, können Sie aus dem zweiten Paket Strom entnehmen. Ersetzen Sie außerdem die dünnen Drähte der passenden Clips durch dickere Drähte. Wie dies geht, zeige ich hier.
Linienach oben
BTL-12 Basetech
BTL-14 Basetech
 
Basetech BTL-12 Da stand ich nun mit meinen 10 NiMH-Akkumulatoren (Mignon, AA). Zwar besitze ich ein passendes Ladegerät, doch das kann immer nur 2 Zellen gleichzeitig laden. Exemplare, die 4 Zellen laden, findet man viele, solche für 8 Zellen schon weniger. Ich fand lediglich ein Ladegerät, das mindestens 10 Zellen gleichzeitig laden kann. Es ist das Basetech BTL-12, das zum Beispiel über Conrad Electronic (Bestell-Nr. 200112) erhältlich ist.
Basetech BTL-14 © Conrad Electronic Die neuere Version Basetech BTL-14 mit Display ist ebenfalls bei Conrad Electronic (Bestell-Nr. 1541355) erhältlich. Ich wählte bewusst ein Gerät, dass keine Schnellladung benutzt. Er lädt die Zellen mit 250 mA (Erhaltungsladestrom 25 mA). Zwar dauert die Ladung so länger (rund 15 Stunden gegenüber 3 bis 4 Stunden beim Schnellladen), doch die Zellen werden so geschont. Hervorzuheben ist, dass beim Basetech BTL-12 und beim BTL-14 jede Zelle einzeln überwacht wird und dass es eine so genannte -ΔU-Abschaltung besitzt. Die Ladegeräte lassen sich mit dem mitgelieferten Netzteil an 100 bis 240 V betreiben, das BTL-12 auch mit einem Adapterkabel aus dem 12-V-Bordnetz des Autos betreiben.
BTL-12: 22,3 × 3,4 × 9,8 cm; 217 g
BTL-14: 22,3 × 3 × 10,6 cm; 140 g
Nachtrag vom 10.5.2020: Nachdem das BTL12 durch das BTL-14 ersetzt wurde, ist auch das BTL-14 nun nicht mehr bei Conrad Electronic erhältlich.
Linienach oben
Bleigel-Akkus
 
Akkumulator Spätestens, wenn man abseits der Netzstromversorgung aktiv werden will, beginnt die Suche nach einer alternativen Stromversorgung. Obwohl es diverse Akkutypen und leistungsstarke Einweglösungen gibt, nutzte ich hauptsächlich Bleigel-Akkus. Berechnet man die notwendige Kapazität, lassen sich verblüffend kleine Exemplare verwenden. Werden dann noch geeignete Ladeverfahren verwendet und grundlegende Nutzungshinweise beachtet, sind sie über Jahre hinweg nutzbar.
Linienach oben
Mainy Egston
 
Egston Mainy Ich war auf der Suche nach einem kleinen, universellen Ladegerät für einen Bleigel-Akku. Es sollte für 110 und 230 V verwendbar sein und möglichst eine Strombegrenzung besitzen. Leider fand ich nicht das Richtige. Ich habe daher ein vorhandenes Netzteil von Egston mit einer anderen Ausgangsspannung einfach geändert. Eine Beschreibung der Änderung ist natürlich verfügbar.
Linienach oben
LiFePo4-Akkus
 
Vision V-LFP-12-4.5 Nachdem die von mir eingesetzten Bleigel-Akkus nach fast 15 Jahren ihren Dienst verrichteten, habe ich ausgefallene Exemplare nicht durch neue ersetzt, sondern mich nach einer leichteren Alternative umgesehen.
BMZ Lithium Powerbloc LBP2500 Seit ein paar Jahren setze ich LiFePo4-Akkus ein. Diese Akkus sind mittlerweile halbwegs preiswert als Akkupacks mit 13,2 V Nennspannung erhältlich. Wer beim Laden keine Balancer einsetzen möchte, sollte beim Kauf darauf achten, dass ein sogenanntes Battery Management System (BMS) bereits im Akku integriert ist. Diese Steuerung übernimmt das Balacieren der darin enthaltenen 4 Zellen.
Außerdem ist darauf zu achten, dass der maximal zulässige Entladestrom niedriger ist als der Strom des Transceivers beim Senden. Ansonsten kann das BMS bei zu großem Strom Schaden nehmen. Die beiden von mir eingesetzten LiFoPo4-Akkus sind:
- Vision V-LFP-12-4.5; 13,2 V/2,5 Ah; 660 g; 114 × 80 × 40 mm
- BMZ Lithium Powerbloc LPB-S 2,5Ah; 13,2 V/4,5 Ah; 530 g; 90 × 101 × 70 mm
Ein für diese LiFePo4-Akkus nutzbares Ladegerät habe ich aus einem Steckernetzteil Egston N2EFSW3-12 gebaut, ein weiteres aus dem Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A.
Linienach oben
N2EFSW3-12W Egston
 
Egston N2EFSW3-12W Ich benötigte ein Ladegerät für LiFePo4-Akkumulatoren, dessen Ausgangsspannung genau 14,4 V beträgt und das eine Strombegrenzung besitzt. Ein Balancer war nicht erforderlich, da dieser bereits in den Akkumulatoren enthalten ist. Ich verwendete hier wieder ein Schaltnetzteil, wie ich es schon vor Jahren bereits beim Ladegerät für Bleigelakkus genutzt hatte. Die Ausgangsspannung und die Strombegrenzung lässt sich relativ einfach einstellen. Es sind nur 2 Widerstände zu ändern. Welche Widerstände wo zu ändern sind, ist in dieser Umbauanleitung nachzulesen.
Linienach oben
SPS24-24W-A Voltcraft
 
Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A Da der maximale Ladestrom des zum Ladegerät für LiFePo4-Akkus umgebauten Netzteils Egston N2EFSW3-12W begrenzt ist, suchte ich nach einem leistungsstärkerem Exemplar, das sich umbauen möglichst einfach lässt. Und ich fand ein geeignetes Steckernetzteil, nämlich das Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A. Seine Ausgangsspannung lässt sich über eine Widerstand in einer Steckbrücke ändern, sodass keine weiteren Umbauten erforderlich sind. Welcher Widerstand zu ändern ist, um die Ausgangsspannung auf genau 14,4 V einzustellen, ist in dieser Umbauanleitung nachzulesen.